I know kung-fu

I’d like to take a little bit of time and talk about alternate realities. This is often something I think about quite a bit. I couldn’t tell you why. I’m not sure what I can, and can’t believe. However, I can’t deny the fact that it could be possible.

For those of you who haven’t the first clue as to what I’m talking about, an alternate reality is just that. Whether it be like in the comic books where we live in a “multi-verse”.. multiple copies of the same world existing parallel together that comprise all reality.

Or, more of a simulated reality. For example, the world we live in is just a simultation. Yes.. everyone knows that one, I bet the first thing that popped into your head was “The Matrix.” Well, I can tell you right now the Wachowski brothers were not the first people to think of it.

A less known example of a simulated reality is a game called Second-Life. In a nutshell, the game is what would happen if you took myspace, The Sims, and the world economy. Got them all drunk and horny, and locked them in a room together. Yeah.. 9 months later, out pops Second-Life. For fuck sake, that game has it’s own currency that actually applies on the real world market. (You can exchange in-game currency for real life money) People own and operate business in virtual reality, and earn a living not only in Second-Life, but also in our reality. It’s extremely in depth.. a bit freaky, and raises alot of interesting thoughts. I’m not here to talk about Second-Life though, but here is an interesting fact. The currency in game is called Linden, the exchange rate as of Feb. 2008 – 320 Linden = 1 US Dollar. Just think about that.

Anyways.. back to the actual topic.

What is the difference between alternate reality, simulated reality, virtual reality, or “our” reality? Within another form of reality one can fufill mental and emotional needs, but not physical. We still need to eat, sleep, and… go #2. There is no way around that. We still need some form of income to support ourselves.. generally you can’t achieve this through virtual reality, though, there are exceptions. But even still… 2 outta 3. When you think about this type of technology, and it’s age.. it’s still very much in it’s infancy.

The internet, in a very primitive and government only form, started in 1985. It’s only 23 years old, and look how far it has come. I’m gonna go out on a limb here, and say that the internet has been the fastest growing technology, ever. Every year there is something new… every day.. every hour.

If it has come this far in 23 years.. what will it be when the internet has it’s 50th birthday?

Since the public started using the internet, it hasn’t slowed down one bit in it’s growth and development. Whats next?

Using the same way of thinking, all the virtual worlds use the internet, as it grows, what will these evolve into?

The possibilities are endless if you ask me. I honestly can’t fathom where it’s going to end up.

I want to touch a bit on simulated reality now. Yes, the matrix theory. What if something like this is true? If life as we know it, is all just…nothing. Moreover, if it is just a simulation.. it’s real to us, right? So then, how can it be a simulation? Ahh.. a paradox maybe?

Right now, some super computer.. I forget where.. is running an evolution simulation. Basically, some scientist’s have a computer cranking away, simulating life… our life if I recall. It starts out as nothing, and over time, evolves. It’s not programmed to do it.. well it is.. but… I suppose it’s a very primitive form of AI.

I couldn’t tell yah.. and google’s not helping me right now. Probably because it’s 4:30am.. and I’m just talking out my ass.

All of this comes about probably because of my games. I play them.. nay.. I live them. Many of you may think it’s sad.. or not normal. For those that do.. you honestly have no idea what you’re talking about so just leave it alone.

Anyways.. I’m running out of shit to say.. so I’m just gonna end with this.

I’m taking a break from reality, right now in my life, everything is just put on hold. I’m not having any sort of a “real” social life, I’m not doing anything, I am just exsisting. My life for the next months will be in a virtual world. Lemme just clear some shit up now..

No, I’m not depressed, I’m actually pretty happy.

No, I’m not trying to escape reality, or escape from my problems.

I’m simply putting my whole reality on hold right now, because I find it pointless at this point. I have plans for my life, but those plans are not happening until next summer, they can’t. So, I’m investing time into my virtual world simply to pass the time in the real world. Plus.. it helps me save money 😛

I’m not locking away my own problems. I’m dealing with them, what I’m doing is not unhealthy in any way with one exception. My social skills that I lack so much in, are not getting any better, haha.

I am happy, I am looking forward to 10 months from now.

I’m not putting any tags on this. Quite frankly, I hope no one reads it. Much of it makes no sense.

The ramblings of Bob at 4…. 5am.

~ by dorfeater on September 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
